Remember the Sabbath

“You shall have no other gods before me,” I pause to give myself time to remember the second commandment. My mother and I are sitting on the floor of my pink and white room. Stuffed animals are hung in a net on the wall beside my bed. White curtains with lace ruffles adorn the window that overlooks our neighbor’s nearby property. Mom is helping me commit to memory, the Ten Commandments.

“You shall not make for yourself a graven image.”

“Hmmmm…?” I thought to myself. My brother, while off on his adventures in the suburbial woods, had found a statue of Jesus carved out of wood and now had it on display in his room.

“Do not take the Lord’s name in vain.” Gosh dang or gosh darn were perfectly acceptable.

“Remember the Sabbath day and keep it holy.” I stopped.

“Mom, why do our calendars have Sunday as the first day of the week? Shouldn’t Sunday be the seventh day of the week?” I remember asking that question. However, I do not remember her response. As the years went by, I realized that our calendars were not wrong. Saturday is the seventh day of the week.


On the way home from church one Sunday, my husband commented on our neighbor mowing his lawn. “This is the Lord’s Day.”

I responded, “Well, actually Saturday is the Sabbath. Not Sunday.”

“But Jesus rose on a Sunday.”

“So?”

“It has been changed.”

“Says who?”

“The Bible.”

“Where?”

Leave a Reply

