Once Saved Always Saved

The second semester of my junior year of high school, I had an art class with a boy named Christopher. During art, we were allowed to chat and have fun as long as we completed our projects and did not disturb nearby classrooms. Christopher was very outgoing and did not have a problem sharing personal stories with the class. That being said, I had every reason to question his salvation.

The following summer, my best friend phoned me. “Christopher died today in a drowning accident.”

My heart sank to my stomach, then I felt as though I was going to hurl it out of my mouth. I was terrified. I was afraid that Christopher was now in Hell.

At his wake, my close friends and I were talking about his questionable salvation. One of them stated that at one point in time, he had made a profession of faith in Christ. I breathed a sigh of relieve. I had come from the camp of “once saved, always saved.”

Christopher was in!

Leave a Reply

