Down the Rabbit Hole

Once I took the red pill, I began my fast ascent down the rabbit hole. I compared each New Testament quotation of the Old Testament. My comparisons are below.


Matthew 1:22-23
“All this took place to fulfill what the Lord had spoken by the prophet, “Behold, the virgin shall conceive and bear a son, and they shall call his name Immanuel.”

The prophecy in Isaiah was given for King Ahaz. Israel and Assyria were going to wage war against Judah. Ahaz was the king of Judah. He was afraid. God told Ahaz to ask for a sign. Ahaz refused. God gave him one anyway. The sign that Israel and Assyria would not take over Judah was a child named Immanuel. God even said that before that boy is old enough to know the good and evil, the land of those kings will be destroyed. This prophecy was to comfort Ahaz. How would Jesus being born 700 years later give Ahaz any comfort? In addition, if his mother was a virgin, then Mary’s virginity would be the second virgin pregnancy.

Isaiah 7,  “In the reign of Ahaz, King Rezin of Aram and King Pekah son of Remaliah of Israel marched upon Jerusalem to attack it; but they were not able to attack it. Now, when it was reported to the House of David that Aram had allied itself with Ephraim (Israel), their hearts and the hearts of their people trembled as tress of the forest sway before a wind. But the LORD said to Isaiah, ‘… meet Ahaz at the end of the conduit of the Upper Pool, by the road of the Fuller’s Field. And say to him: Be firm and be calm. Do not be afraid and do not lose heart on account of those two smoking stubs of firebrands, on account of the raging of Rezin…. They have plotted against you saying, ‘We will march against Judah and invade and conquer it, and we will set up as king in it the son of Tabeel, thus says my Lord God: It shall not succeed, It shall not come to pass.” …The LORD spoke further to Ahaz, “Ask for a sign.. anywhere down to Sheol or up to the sky.’ ….Ahaz said, “I will not ask.” .. Therefore the Lord himself will give you a sign. The young woman [virgin] shall conceive and bear a son and shall call him Immanuel. He shall eat curds and honey when he knows how to refuse the evil and choose the good. For before the boy knows how to refuse the evil and choose the good, the land whose two kings you dread will be deserted.”

2 Kings 16, “In the seventeeth year of Pekah son of Remaliah, Ahaz son of Jotham of Judah became king. Then King Rezin of Aram and King Pekah son of Remaliah of Israel advanced on Jerusalem for battle. They besieged Ahaz, but could not overcome him.”  

The Hebrew word used is almah. It means damsel (per Webster’s New World Hebrew Dictionary). The Hebrew word that means virgin is betoolah (per Webster’s New World Hebrew Dictionary).


Matthew 2:14-15
“And he rose and took the child and his mother by night and departed to Egypt and remained there until the death of Herod. This was to fulfill what the Lord had spoken by the prophet, “Out of Egypt I called my son.”

Hosea 11:1-2 “When Israel was a child, I loved him, and out of Egypt I called my son. The more they were called, the more they went away; they kept sacrificing to the Baals and burning offerings to idols.”

Hosea 11:1 was not an unfulfilled prophecy. When it was written, it had already happened, the children of Israel were called out of Egypt to the Promised Land. Besides, did Jesus keep sacrificing to the Baals? No. No Jews who knows his scriptures would ever associate this to Jesus.


Matthew 2:16-18
“Then Herod, when he saw that he had been tricked by the wise men, became furious, and he sent and killed all the male children in Bethlehem and in all that region who were two years old or under, according to the time that he has ascertained from the wise men. Then was fulfilled what was spoken by the prophet Jeremiah, ‘A voice was heard in Ramah, weeping and loud lamentation, Rachel weeping for her children; she refused to be comforted, because they are no more.”

Jeremiah 31:15-18 “Thus says the LORD: A voice is heard in Ramah, lamentation and bitter weeping. Rachel is weeping for her children; she refuses to be comforted for her children, because they are no more.” Thus says the LORD: Keep your voice from weeping, and your eyes from tears, for there is a reward for your work, declares the LORD, and they shall come back from the land of the enemy. There is hope for your future, declares the LORD, and your children shall come back to their own country. I have heard Ephraim (Northern Kingdom) grieving, ‘You have disciplined me, and I was disciplined, like an untrained calf; bring me back that I may be restored, for you are the LORD my God.’”

This is speaking of Rachel weeping over Israel. The LORD says he will bring them back one day. It does not say that Rachel will be weeping over infanticide.


Matthew 2:23
“And he went and lived in a city called Nazareth, that what was spoken by the prophets might be fulfilled, “He shall be called a Nazarene.”

There is no such prophecy.


Matthew 3:3
“In those days John the Baptist came preaching in the wilderness of Judah, ‘Repent, for the kingdom of heaven is at hand.’ For this is he who was spoken of by the prophet Isaiah when he said, ‘The voice of one crying in the wilderness: Prepare the way of the Lord; make his paths straight.”

Isaiah 40: 1-4 Comfort, comfort my people says your God. Speak tenderly to Jerusalem, and cry to her that her warfare is ended, that her iniquity is pardoned, that she has received from the LORD’s hand double for all her sins. A voice cries, “In the wilderness prepare the way of the LORD; make straight in the desert a highway for our God.”

In Matthew, the quote is changed in order to say the voice is coming from the wilderness rather than the path or desert highway is coming from the wilderness. The context of Isaiah 40 is not a person crying in the wilderness, but exiles returning from the wilderness.


Matthew 11:10
“This is he of whom it is written, ‘Behold, I send my messenger before your face, who will prepare your way before you.’”

Malachi 3:1 “Behold, I send my messenger, and he will prepare the way before me.”

Besides the fact that the writer changed the object from God to people, if he were talking about Jesus, Jesus would be a messenger or angel, not God incarnate.


Matthew 12:15-21
 “Behold, my servant whom I have chosen, my beloved with whom my soul is well pleased. I will put my Spirit upon him, and he will proclaim justice to the Gentiles. He will not quarrel or cry aloud, nor will anyone hear his voice in the streets; a bruised reed he will not break, and a smoldering wick he will not quench, until he brings justice to victory; and in his name the Gentiles will hope.”

Isaiah 42:1-4, “Behold my servant, whom I uphold, my chosen, in whom my soul delights; I have put my spirit upon him; he will bring forth justice to the nations, He will not cry aloud or lift up his voice, or make it heard in the street; a bruised reed he will not break and a faintly burning wick he will not quench; he will faithfully bring forth justice. He will not grow faint or be discouraged till he has established justice in the earth; and the coastlands wait for his law.


Matthew 13:34-35
“All these things Jesus said to the crowds in parables; indeed, he said nothing to them without a parable. This was to fulfill what was spoken by the prophet: ‘I will open my mouth in parables; I will utter what has been hidden since the foundation of the world.’”

Psalm 78:2-3

“I will open my mouth in a parable; I will utter dark sayings from of old, things that we have heard and known, that our fathers have told us.”

According to Matthew, these are things that were hidden. According to Psalm, they have known these things for generations.


John 19:24
“so they said to one another, “Let us not tear it, but cast lots for it to see whose it shall be.” This was to fulfill the Scripture which says, “They divided my garments among them, and for my clothing they cast lots.”

Psalm 22 is a Psalm of David. Vs. 6 says, “I am a worm and not a man, scorned by mankind and despised by the people.” Vs. 12, “Many bulls encompass me; strong bulls of Bashan surround me; they open wide their mouths at me, like a ravening and roaring lion.” Vs. 16, “For dogs encompass me; and company of evildoers encircles me; they have pierced my hands and feet – I can count all my bones – they stare and gloat over me; they divide my garments among them, and for my clothing they cast lots.”

David is speaking about himself and his enemies. This is not a messianic prophecy.


Romans 3:4
 …as it is written, “That you may be justified in your words, and prevail when you are judged.”

Psalm 51:4 “Against you, you only, have I sinned and done what is evil in your sight, so that you may be justified in your words and blameless in your judgment.”

Paul has the person being judge. Psalm has God doing the judgment.


Romans 9:33
“Behold, I am laying in Zion a stone of stumbling, and a rock of offense; and whoever believes in him will not be put to shame.”

Isaiah 28:16, “Behold, I am the one who has laid as a foundation in Zion, a stone, a tested stone, a precious cornerstone, of a sure foundation: Whoever believes will not be in haste.”


Romans 11:7-10
What then? Israel failed to obtain what it was seeking. The elect obtained it, but the rest were hardened, as it is written, “God gave them a spirit of stupor, eyes that would not see and ears that would not hear, down to this very day.” And David says, “Let their table become a snare and a trap, a stumbling block and a retribution for them; let them; let their eyes be darkened so that they cannot see, and bend their backs forever.

Psalm 69:21-23, “They gave me poison for food, and for my thirst they gave me sour wine to drink. Let their own table before them become a snare; and when they are at peace, let it become a trap. Let their eyes be darkened, so that they cannot see, and make their loins tremble continually.

David is speaking about his enemies; has nothing to do with Israel.


Romans 11:26
The Deliverer will come from Zion, he will banish all ungodliness from Jacob and this will be my covenant with them when I take away their sins.

Isaiah 59:20-21; And a redeemer will come to Zion, to those in Jacob who turn from transgression,” declares the LORD. “And as for me, this is my covenant with them,” says the LORD: “My Spirit that is upon you, and my words that I have put in your mouth, shall not depart out of your mouth, or out of the mouth of your offspring, or out of the mouth of your children’s offspring,” says the LORD, “from this time forth and forevermore.”


Hebrews 1:5-6
“or to which of the angels did God ever say, “You are my Son, today I have begotten you?” Or again, “I will be to him a father, and he shall be to me a son”? And again, when he brings the firstborn into the world, he says, “Let all God’s angels worship him.”

2 Samuel 7:12-17; When your days are fulfilled and you lie down with your fathers, I will raise up your offspring after you, who shall come from your body, and I will establish his kingdom. He shall build a house for my name, and I will establish the throne of his kingdom forever. I will be to him a father, and he shall be to me a son. When he commits iniquity, I will discipline him with the rod of men, with the stripes of the sons of men, but my steadfast love will not depart from him, as I took it from Saul, whom I put away from before you. And your house and your kingdom shall be made sure forever before me. Your throne shall be established forever. In accordance with all these words, and in accordance with all this vision, Nathan spoke to David.

This is speaking of Solomon. This is not a messianic prophecy.


Hebrews 10:6-7
Sacrifices and offerings you have not desired, but a body have you prepared for me; in burnt offerings and sin offerings you have taken no pleasure. Then I said, “Behold, I have come to do your will, O God, as it is written of me in the scroll of the book.”

Psalm 40:6-8, “In sacrifice and offering you have not delighted, but you have given me an open ear. Burnt offering and sin offering you have not required. Then I said, “Behold, I have come; in the scroll of the book it is written of me; I delight to do your will, O my God; your law is within my heart.”


After my comparisons, I had to make a decision. A decision between ignoring the problems I had encountered with a so-called perfect, infallible, inerrant holy book or to accept the truth no matter the cost.

The cost being- whatever would happen once I told my husband I was no longer a Christian. Afraid that he would want a divorce, I decided not to tell him for a while. Yet I had to tell someone. That weekend at my son’s birthday party, I confided in my sister-in-law.

“Hey, I need to tell you something,” I began.

“Yes?”

“I don’t believe in Jesus anymore. I’m not a Christian.” I said it out loud for the first time.

“What do you mean? Are you Mormon?”

“No,” I chuckled. “I’m Jewish.

The remainder of the weekend was spent with hours of talking and studying with my sister-in-law. Intrigued with my studies, she thought she would find a hole, patch it up, and bring me back to the fold. Instead, she began falling down the rabbit hole with me. We both studied and read with open minds, wondering if a path back to Jesus could be found.

Earlier, I schooled her on the interpolated passage in Mark that described the disciples encountering the risen Jesus. She asked me to read it out loud.

Now when he rose early on the first day of the week, he appeared first to Mary Magdalene, from whom he had cast out seven demons. She went and told those who had been with him, as they mourned and wept. But when they heard that he was alive and had been seen by her, they would not believe it. …

“What does Matthew say,” she wondered.

Now after the Sabbath, toward the dawn of the first day of the week, Mary Magdalene and the other Mary went to see the tomb. And behold, there was a great earthquake, for an angel of the Lord descended from heaven and came and rolled back the stone and sat on it. His appearance was like lightning, and his clothing white as snow. And for fear of him the guards trembled and became like dead men. But the angel said to the women, “Do not be afraid, for I know that you seek Jesus who was crucified. He is not here, for he has risen, as he said. Come, see the place where he lay. Then go quickly and tell his disciples that he has risen from the dead, and behold, he is going before you to Galilee; there you will see him. See, I have told you.” So they departed quickly from the tomb with fear and great joy, and ran to tell his disciples. And behold, Jesus met them and said, “Greetings!” And they came up and took hold of his feet and worshiped him. Then Jesus said to them, “Do not be afraid; go and tell my brothers to go to Galilee, and there they will see me.”

“What a minute,” I stopped. “I thought Mary Magdalene first saw Jesus at the garden while she was alone.” I flipped to the book of John.

Now on the first day of the week Mary Magdalene came to the tomb early, while it was still dark, and saw that the stone had been taken away from the tomb. So she ran and went to Simon Peter and the other disciple, the one whom Jesus loved, and said to them, “They have taken the Lord out of the tomb, and we do not know where they have laid him.” So Peter went out with the other disciple, and they were going toward the tomb. Both of them were running together, but the other disciple outran Peter and reached the tomb first. And stooping to look in, he saw the linen cloths lying there but he did not go in. then Simon Peter came, following him, and went into the tomb. He saw the linen clothes lying there, and the face cloth, which had been on Jesus’ head, not lying with the linen cloths but folded up in a place by itself. Then the other disciple, who had reached the tomb first, also went in, and he saw and believed; for as yet they did not understand the Scripture, that he must rise from the dead. Then the disciples went back to their homes.

But Mary stood weeping outside the tomb, and as she wept she stooped to look into the tomb. And she saw two angels in white, sitting where the body of Jesus had lain, one at the head and one at the feet. … she turned around and saw Jesus standing…

Then Luke,

But on the first day of the week, at early dawn, they went to the tomb, taking the spices they had prepared. And they found the stone rolled away from the tomb, but when they went in they did not find the body of the Lord Jesus. While they were perplexed about this, behold, two men stood by them in dazzling apparel. And as they were frightened and bowed their faces to the ground, the men said to them, “Why do you seek the living among the dead? He is not here but has risen. Remember how he told you… And returning from the tomb they told all these things to the eleven and to all the rest…. But these words seemed to them an idle tale and they did not believe them.

And the original ending of Mark,

When the Sabbath was past, Mary Magdalene and Mary the mother of James and Salome bought spices, so that they might go and anoint him. And very early on the first day of the week, when the sun had risen, they went to the tomb. And they were saying to one another, “Who will roll away the stone for us from the entrance of the tomb?” And looking up, they saw that the stone had been rolled back – it was very large. And entering the tomb, they saw a young man sitting on the right side, dressed in a white robe, and they were alarmed. You seek Jesus of Nazareth, who was crucified. He has risen; he is not here. See the place where they laid him. But go, tell his disciples and Peter that he is going before you to Galilee. There you will see him, just as he told you.” And they went out and fled from the tomb, for trembling and astonishment had seized them, and they said nothing to anyone, for they were afraid.

“Alright, I’m done,” I declared.

One thought on “Down the Rabbit Hole

  1. The “prophecies” in Matthew are especially insane. It’s like when we take movie quotes out of context to make parallels in our own lives – but more mangled.

    Realizing that was a turning point for me, too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

