Gentiles

At church yesterday, the pastor wrapped up Romans Chapter 11. He stated that if Israel had not rejected Jesus, then the Gospel would not have been available to the Gentiles.

Lest you be wise in your own sight, I want you to understand this mystery, brothers: a partial hardening has come upon Israel, until the fullness of the Gentiles has come in. And in this way all Israel will be saved, as it is written, “The Deliverer will come from Zion, he will banish ungodliness from Jacob; and this will be my covenant with them when I take away their sins.”

First of all, this is one of those prophecies I mentioned before where the Gospel writer altered it to fit his theology. The actual prophecy says,

And a Redeemer will come to Zion, to those in Jacob who turn from transgression,” declares Yahweh. “And as for me, this is my covenant with them, “says Yahweh, “My spirit that is upon you, and my words that I have put in your mouth, shall not depart out of your mouth, or out of the mouth of your offspring, or out of the mouth of your children’s offspring, from this time forth and forevermore.

Paul has the deliverer coming from Zion. Isaiah says it will go to Zion. Paul states that the deliverer will banish ungodliness from Jacob. Isaiah says the deliverer will come to those who turn from sin. Furthermore, Isaiah never mentions a covenant of taking away sins in this passage.

So what about the Gentiles? Did Yahweh need Israel to reject his savior so that he could extend his invitation to non-Israelites/Gentiles? Not according to the Old Testament. Gentiles were always allowed to take hold of the Covenant and become a part of Israel.

In Exodus 12, any sojourner living with Israel was to participate in the Passover and Unleavened Bread. It also further states that there is to be one law for the the native and the stranger who sojourns with the Israelites.

Ruth was a Moabite. She was not a native Israelite. When her husband died, she desired to stay with her mother-in-law and she became an Israelite.

And my favorite, Isaiah 56:1-5

Thus says the Lord“Keep justice, and do righteousness, for soon my salvation will come, and my righteousness be revealed. Blessed is the man who does this, and the son of man who holds it fast, who keeps the Sabbath, not profaning it, and keeps his hand from doing any evil. Let not the foreigner who has joined himself to the Lord say, “The Lord will surely separate me from his people”; and let not the eunuch say, “Behold, I am a dry tree.” For thus says the Lord, “To the eunuchs who keep my Sabbaths, who choose the things that please me and hold fast my covenant, I will give in my house and within my walls a monument and a name better than sons and daughters; I will give them an everlasting name that shall not be cut off. “And the foreigners who join themselves to the Lordto minister to him, to love the name of the Lordand to be his servants, everyone who keeps the Sabbath and does not profane it, and holds fast my covenant— these I will bring to my holy mountain, and make them joyful in my house of prayer; their burnt offerings and their sacrifices will be accepted on my altar; for my house shall be called a house of prayer for all peoples.” The Lord Godwho gathers the outcasts of Israel, declares, “I will gather yet others to him besides those already gathered.”

This phrase cannot be referring to the future Gospel of Jesus because it is obvious that a Sabbath observance is a major part of the Covenant. This covenant is the same covenant given at Mount Sinai, complete with sacrifices and burnt offerings.

While Paul would have us to believe the Gentiles receive unmerited mercy only because the Israelites rejected the Gospel, Jeremiah writes that the Gentiles will realize they inherited lies and that Yahweh is the one true god.

 And first I will recompense their iniquity and their sin double; because they have defiled my land, they have filled mine inheritance with the carcasses of their detestable and abominable things. O Lord, my strength, and my fortress, and my refuge in the day of affliction, the Gentiles shall come unto thee from the ends of the earth, and shall say, Surely our fathers have inherited lies, vanity, and things wherein there is no profit. Shall a man make gods unto himself, and they are no gods? Therefore, behold, I will this once cause them to know, I will cause them to know mine hand and my might; and they shall know that my name is Yahweh. -Jeremiah 16:18-21

Leave a Reply

