Merry Christmas

For the first time in a long time I am enjoying Christmas. As a believer, I found the holiday offensive. To take a pagan celebration of the winter solstice and use it for Jesus was against God’s word. When the Hebrews were heading into Canaan, Yahweh forbid them to worship him as the other nations worshiped their gods.

“When the Lord your God cuts off before you the nations whom you go in to dispossess, and you dispossess them and dwell in their land, take care that you be not ensnared to follow them, after they have been destroyed before you, and that you do not inquire about their gods, saying, ‘How did these nations serve their gods?—that I also may do the same.’ You shall not worship the Lord your God in that way, for every abominable thing that the Lord hates they have done for their gods, for they even burn their sons and their daughters in the fire to their gods. “Everything that I command you, you shall be careful to do. You shall not add to it or take from it. -Deuteronomy 12:29-32

Jesus reiterated the Torah by saying it would not pass away until heaven and earth ceased to exist.

For truly, I say to you, until heaven and earth pass away, not an iota, not a dot, will pass from the Law until all is accomplished. -Matthew 5:18

Jesus said it. That settles it. I believe it.

So each year as the War on Christmas began I tried to educate those around me with the truth on the Pagan origins of Christmas. How annoying it was to hear people complain because the Wal-Mart greeter wished them a Happy Holiday. And many Facebook posts which read, “Merry CHRISTmas!” led to me banging the keyboard with, “Jesus was not born on December 25!”  Yet no one really cared.

Of course last year was the absolute worst! Christmas was no longer about the silliness of singing “Happy Birthday” to Jesus, it was about the seriousness of idolatry. A fresh unbiased study of the Tenakh showed that Yahweh was alone and would not tolerate the worship of any other. I had a difficult time participating in the festivities. But I grinned and beared it; and I survived.

This year, I still roll my eyes with every “I say Merry Christmas” Facebook post, but for the most part I just overlook the fact that people ignore history or simply don’t care. It is a fun holiday and it makes a lot of people happy, especially the kids.

grinchwhoville

3 thoughts on “Merry Christmas

Leave a Reply

